Skip to content

My first post on GeekyWhiteGuy.com

January 27, 2011

Welcome to my new site! Have a look around! What do you think!?

::insert cricket chips here::

Ok…I admit. It’s fairly sparse right now…but this IS a new endeavor for me, right? Give me some time to get some content created and posted.

I was just writing my “about” page. There was no real plan with what to write…I just went with it. Somehow it turned into a cathartic experience for me. Since I’m pretty sure no one reads those “about” pages I think I’ll go ahead and paste it here as well. It’s an important insight on me and why I’m starting this site.

My life long dream has been to be a “comic book artist”. It wasn’t until the last 5 years that I’ve begun to really understand what that even means. As a kid I always had this romanticized idea of a comic book artists being some sort of button up shirt with no tie hipster that spends his days in a downtown studio happily and effortlessly drawing panel after panel of superheroes foiling evil plots and saving the day.  All through my teens and twenties I never felt like I was talented, knowledgeable or “cool” enough to be a comic book artists. While I still deal with artistic self-esteem every time I pick up a pencil, pen or stylus…I’ve come to realize that being an artist is what you make of it. Thanks to amazing artists that I’ve gotten to know (some in person, some through working relationships and many through social media outlets) like Brian Miller, Nathan Fox, Kevin Mellon, Ray Dillon, Katie Cook, Eric Merced, Scott Wegna and SO many more I can’t possibly name them all…I now know that the only thing that’s holding me back is myself. I know I’ll never be the monthly penciler on a SpiderMan title and I’m ok with that. What I’m NOT ok with is sitting on the outside looking in anymore.  I’m NOT ok with feeling sorry for myself anymore because I’m not creating anything.  So I’ve been drawing. Not as much maybe as I’d prefer due to my heavy flatting schedule…but I’m not actively seeking out any new customers for flatting and certainly not pushing to get any MORE work than I already have. It’s time to start focusing on the things that I really want to do.

So keep an eye on this site. I’ll be posting mostly artwork here but you might also see short text only posts like this one about whatever the heck I have/want to talk about.  Thanks for reading!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ALyssa permalink
    January 27, 2011 12:17 pm

    Very proud of you!!! Keep doing what makes you happy, unless it involves you, peanut butter and a late night desire to run down the steet in only boxers…lol! Love you.

  2. January 28, 2011 7:40 am

    Congrats on the launch of the new site, Eric! Looking forward to seeing what you create.

  3. January 28, 2011 8:37 am

    Keep on plugging away and don’t give up. Congrats on the site.

  4. January 28, 2011 10:06 am

    Nice work man!

  5. Janene permalink
    January 29, 2011 4:28 am

    pretty cool Eric! We all know how talented you are and how hard you work. so proud of you… try to get some sleep once in awhile ok? 😉 love you.

Leave a Reply

