Skip to content

Irons in the Fire

February 1, 2011

It’s a COLD and snowy day here in Nebraska. My oldest daughter’s school was canceled so we all had to get up a little early today and head off to Nan-Nan and Grandad’s before I could get to work. Ugh! For all of you across the nation who are getting or are about to get dumped on with tons and tons of snow and frigid cold air: I feel you. This sucks. Come on summer!!!  But, as my buddy Dan (@Dragonbrush) just posted on twitter: A good day to just stay inside and draw.

Not a lot in the way of artwork that I can post today. Been flatting a lot for the last 4 days or so. Yesterday I got my first couple of pages from the upcoming EPIC to flat. The art is fantastic. It’s pretty sweet to be involved in that project (even in just a flatting capacity).  I can’t post any screen shots of that book but I’m sure there will be more word on that as the project nears completion.

Since I’ve been trying to get back into the groove of drawing every single night…I’ve found that I feel REALLY rusty. My lines are horrible and scratchy. My sense of shape is off. Everything is coming out terribly messy and disproportionate. So last night I clicked on a webpage that I bookmarked a LONG time ago. It’s an online Gesture Drawing site where you can:

  • Specify female, male or a combination of models
  • Nude, clothed or a combination of both
  • Set the time that each image appears on the screen (30 seconds, 60 seconds, 2 minutes, 5 minutes, 10 minutes)

You’ll find many many different models (though you will see the same models in several different poses) in all sorts of fun and dynamic poses.  The sight is accredited to Pixelovely.com who apparently took all the photographs. It’s a great website and I use it quite often. I can’t recommend it enough. You can find the site at: http://www.pixelovely.com/tools/gesture.html

The one thing I can post for you is a sketch card I drew over my lunch hour yesterday. It’s listed as number 18 on my 100 sketch cards list: Gandalf.  I’ll be honest…I hate this drawing. I almost didn’t post it…but then I thought I might as well post the “not so good” artwork along with my usual “only slightly better” artwork. That way people can get a feel for what I do.  Maybe that’s a bad idea…? Maybe not. I’m not sure.  In any case…there it is.  the lone work is terrible, the pose itself is aped directly from a picture off of Google Images, its all the same ugly gray, it’s super dirty, and the pose makes no sense the way I drew it.  His robe just looks like a messy blob. Yuck.  This one will NOT be going down as one of my favorites.  You can find a higher resolution image of the card on my DA page (if, for some crazy reason you want to have a better look that that piece of shit): http://geekywhiteguy.deviantart.com/

Thanks to Twitter, this morning I was linked to the Hourly Comic site.  I’ve never heard of this site nor this project…but I think I’m going to give it a go. The deal is you create a drawing or comic page for every hour of this day. Finish it…and send it into the site. Then they’re present all the finished pieces. Could be fun. I’ve been taking notes about each hour so I can go back and draw it all out. Anyone else want to play along??  http://www.hourlycomic.com/hourlycomicday.html

Well I think that about wraps it up for today.  I’ll try and get some artwork finished up that I can post here in the next day or so. Thanks for reading! 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 11:12 am

    Awesome. We are about to be dumped on here in Michigan. The weather people are saying about 24″ when it is all said and done. Good day to stay inside and draw.

    Eric, awesome of you to post that gesture drawing tool! I have never come across that yet in my internet travels.

  2. February 1, 2011 11:17 am

    That gesture drawing tool is *awesome*!

    • February 3, 2011 6:26 am

      Glad to have you on-board the EPIC team, Eric! I’ll definitely let you know when you can post some of the flatting stuff you’ve been doing as previews.

      And thanks for the Gesture Drawing link. Too awesome!

Leave a Reply

