Skip to content

Nuke Con 2011!! (part1)

October 1, 2011

Good morning!! I’m preparing now for day 2 of Nuke Con at the Mid America Center in Council Bluff, Iowa.  Nuke is primarily a gaming convention so there are tons of board and card games being played all over the place.  Because of a bunch of around the house and daddy duty things that I needed to get done yesterday I didn’t get my table set up until near 7 last night (the show had officially opened at 3:30) and the show was a little slow.  I did, however, get a chance to walk around the hall and talk to some fun people.  The highlight of my night was meeting and talking to  Bill Grush.  If you’re in or from the Omaha area and at all into the nerd culture you probably know who Bill is. He is the owner of Star Realm…one of the coolest comic book stores around in the 80s and 90s.  He’s out of the business now but still attends some local shows to sell the truckload of stock that he’s still been holding on to. Bill is great. We spoke about old times, about the business and about art.  He’s super cool.  I WISH I had a photo of his store.  He had a HUGE mural painted on one side of the building with space, the moon, an astronaut and the Enterprise NCC-1701-D. It was amazing!!  Some day I’ll find a photo and get it posted.  If you ever get a chance to meet Bill…be sure to stop and say hello. He’s a great guy.

Like I said, the show was a little slow last night but I did pick up one commission. Seeing as how I really didn’t have that much else to do…I kind of went overboard with this drawing but that’s ok right?? I guess it was a well spent ten bucks. The request was to draw the guy with leather armor looking annoyed.

Nuke Commission 1

In today’s show there is the art auction (I have 6 pieces in that show) and an ALL day/night artist jam.  So if you’re around the Omaha area…stop out and say hello, play a game or 3 and buy some artwork.

One more thing…today is the annual 24 Hour Comic Book event (which is where you create a 24 page comic book in 24 hours straight). This is my first year missing it in like…5 years or something. I feel a little strange skipping it…but I’m happy to be drawing all weekend at the show.  You can read more about the 24HC event at www.24hourcomicsday.com and you can watch my friend Harold LIVE right now as he works on his book on his UStream channel by clicking here: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/harold24hcd.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. BILL GRUSH permalink
    February 18, 2012 10:26 pm

    ERIC-I JUST RAN ACROSS YOUR BLOG+SIGN ME UP!!! I REALLY ENJOYED OUR VISIT AT NUKECON+HOPE TO SEE YOU THERE AGAIN IN 2012. HAPPY TRAILS TO YOU GWG!!! BG

    • Eric permalink*
      February 19, 2012 10:20 am

      Thanks Bill! I’m planning on attending again this year (if they’ll have me)

Leave a Reply

