Skip to content

My BIG Announcement!

February 22, 2017

In 2008 I discovered that some people were hired by companies to draw sketch cards. If you don’t know what a sketch card is first of all…what have you been doing with your life? A sketch card is a trading card (the size of a “baseball” card) which is a blank on one or both sides that an artist draws an original drawing on. I often sell these when I table at conventions because are small, relatively inexpensive and don’t take a ton of time to create compared to a large piece. The way I discovered sketch cards was that I heard people were being hired to draw Star Wars cards for the Topps trading card company. I knew instantly that I was going to try to get work on a Star Wars sketch card set. I went to work right away practicing the art of drawing small and getting together a portfolio of work that might help me land it! I reached out to people I knew that may be able to help me contact the powers that be. Emails were sent and I waited to hear back. No one contacted me.

A few months later I worked on a couple sketch card sets so I gathered up my revised portfolio and submitted again! This time with a little work under my belt (some of it not really completely terrible) I felt like I was sure to get in. No one contacted me.

Months later with even more card sets in my portfolio, I submitted again. No one contacted me.

This cycle went on for the next 9 years. Every 6 months I would gather up a portfolio and send it into Topps in hopes of getting on a set. Actually…after a couple years of submitting I just wanted to hear back from them. ANYTHING back from them. Even a “Got your portfolio and it sucks” type of response would have been great!! But, no. Not a peep. Still, every 6 months I would submit my portfolio.

Last month, to my incredible surprise, I got a response! An invitation to work on an upcoming set! I replied right away that I would love to…then heard nothing for a couple weeks. I was just beginning to think maybe someone at Topps HQ made a mistake sending me the invite message when I received another form letter type email saying “If you are reading this email we have shipped cards to you”. I was bouncing off the walls but decided that I wouldn’t say anything about this until I got the cards in my hands. Just my luck I would announce it…and somehow Topps would file for bankruptcy or Trump would sign a new presidential order banning any type of artwork smaller than his hands (which are crazy small). I’m happy to say that today…the cards showed up!!

blank_cards

This is where the magic happens!

It’s official! I have been hired to draw for the upcoming Star Wars: Galactic File sketch card set by Topps!! I have 50 cards plus 7 Artist Return cards and could NOT be more excited about it! I’m not legally allowed to post any of the drawings I create until they are complete and approved so you won’t see any of my work until sometime in mid-to-late May but you can be sure that I’ll post everything I’m allowed to the moment they tell me it’s ok. Between these cards (which I couldn’t ever say no to), the other work I already have on the books and the rest of things I have to do every day/week/month I plan on being fairly unavailable for any sort of human interaction for the foreseeable future. Don’t worry, though. I’ll be right here…making art.

For more information about the Star Wars: Galactic Wars card set please visit Topp’s website.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

